Skip to main content
Main content

NRL Community Awards

About the Community Awards

The NRL Community Awards recognise Rugby League’s unsung heroes for the tireless work they do to support the Game they love. From volunteers and teachers, to players at a first-grade level, the awards pause to honour, reflect and congratulate those who make a positive difference for many in their communities, week after week.

To say thank you for the hard work and commitment to their communities, nominees across all award categories are invited to attend the NRL Community Awards function, this year to be held on Saturday 1st October 2016 along with the opportunity to attend the 2016 NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final. 

Awards Categories

Nominees are selected in each of the following award categories:

Volunteer of the Year 

Presented to a Volunteer that has provided exceptional service to the game and made a notable and measurable difference in their community through Rugby League while demonstrating the NRL values of excellence, courage, inclusiveness and team work.

Grassroots Club of the Year presented by Telstra

Presented to a Rugby League Club that has fostered participation and enjoyment at all levels of the sport, has become an integral part of their community and has shown innovation in administration.

Teacher of the Year presented by ACCOR

Presented to a Teacher who has demonstrated exceptional support of Rugby League through the provision of opportunities for students to be involved in both practical Rugby League activities within their school/district and engaging students by integrating the NRL’s Educational programs in the classroom. 

Young Person of the Year

Presented to a young person (aged 13 – 18) who has participated in an NRL Community Program and contributed to their Community through Rugby League – either through encouraging others to participate or by using rugby league as a vehicle to raise awareness with regards to societal issues.

Women in League Achievement Award presented by Harvey Norman

Presented to a woman who has either acted as an outstanding advocate for the advancement and opportunity of women in Rugby League or made a significant contribution to Rugby League in general.

NRL Club - Community Program of the Year presented by AAMI

Presented to an NRL Club that recognises, celebrates and rewards excellent/innovative community programs which significantly improve outcomes for their community and fosters a culture of learning, supporting and sharing of excellent practice.

Ken Stephen Medal Presented by Telstra

Ken Stephen was an administrator who devoted 28 years to the NSWRL in various capacities. He retired shortly before his death in 1988. The Ken Stephen Medal Presented by Telstra recognises the efforts of an NRL player, who has not only achieved on the field, but has also committed time off the field to community projects.

A player is nominated by their NRL club for their involvement in charity work, youth development or community support. The nominated player will have consistently demonstrated their commitment to making a difference in their community and be seen as a role model in this area at their NRL club.

Click to view the Ken Stephen Medal Honour Roll

Community Team of the Year

In 2016, all nominees of the Ken Stephen Medal will be recognised as the Community Team of the Year highlighting the collective efforts of these NRL players who dedicate their own time and effort across many community projects throughout the year.